closet foodie: Capt’n Jack Sparrow’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Standard
closet foodie: Capt’n Jack Sparrow’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies
written by Stephanie
 

Happy President’s Day!  The kids are home from school for the holiday and  are “glued” to the TV,  If it isn’t the TV, then it’s the Wii or iPad.  I can almost see the gray matter in their heads becoming misty and swirling out their ears into the atmosphere.  On some days my 7-year-old daughter, Scarlett, can coerce her 9-year-old brother, Easton, into playing a game of make-believe with her Pet Shop animals.  Of course, this usually ends up with Barbie dolls involved too.  While Easton is a good sport about the girly play, he often finds his way back to the electronics.  You ask, what am I doing while my kids are under the influence of electronics?  I am busy at work at my design table coming up with some new leather accessories for spring/summer.  So, today I put their tushies to work in the kitchen, making pancakes for a late breakfast and chocolate chip cookies for Baking 101 instruction.

The recipe the kids and I decided upon was Bon Appetit’s “Salty Chocolate Chunk Cookies”.

Cap'n Jack Sparrow Chocolate Chunk Cookies

As we gathered the ingredients for the cookies, I discovered in the pantry there was not a chocolate chip in sight.  There was however, my personal stash of dark chocolate in the “Mom’s Only Jar”.  I eyed the chocolate stash, hesitated to grab it and then looked at my kids’ anticipating faces… I caved.  I didn’t have any plain dark chocolate but I did have Lindt’s  Excellence A Touch of Sea Salt Dark Chocolate.

Lindt Chocolate

I was worried this chocolate might make the cookie too salty (read… do I really want to use my chocolate addiction stash).    Well, the sea salt dark chocolate ended up being a wonderful adaptation to the recipe.  The cookies were the perfect mix of salty and sweet.  In future batches, I am going to add chopped pecans to the recipe.  I think the addition of the nuts will add buttery flavored layer enhancing the sweet and salty taste,  The kids proclaimed, “these are the best cookies ever”!  Scarlett asked me if I was going to put the recipe on the blog and what would I name the cookie?   So, I put their “swirling gray matter” to work and the great debate was what sea character or creature would like to eat the salty cookies?  They creatively came up with “Cap’n Jack Sparrow’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies”.

So, here I am sitting down to share this recipe among the PlanetDwell readers and the kids are back to their self-induced video trance.

*Note:  The recipe calls for 10-12 minutes baking time.  I adjusted the baking time to 8 minutes to get that nice golden brown color on the edges.  You can see some of my cookies got too brown; however, they were still delightfully crunchy and delicious.

Cap'n Jack Sparrow Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Cap’n Jack Sparrow’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies
recipe via Bon Appetit

Yield: Makes 24

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup (packed) light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup powdered sugar
2 large egg yolks
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla, preferably Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla
2 – 3.5 oz. bars Lindt Excellence A Touch of Sea Salt Dark Chocolate, coarsely chopped
Maldon or other flaky sea salt
 

Directions:

Prepare two baking sheets lined with parchment paper.  Place racks in upper and lower thirds of oven and preheat to 375° F.

Whisk flour, baking powder, kosher salt, and baking soda in a medium bowl; set aside.

Using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat butter, brown sugar, sugar, and powdered sugar until light and fluffy, 3-4 minutes.  Add egg yolks, egg, and vanilla.  Beat, occasionally scraping down the sides of the bowl, until mixture is pale and fluffy, 4-5 minutes.  Reduce mixer speed to low; slowly add dry ingredients, mixing just to blend.  Using a spatula, fold in chocolate.

Spoon rounded teaspoonfuls (I like to use a 1-inch melon ball scoop) of cookie dough onto prepared baking sheet, spacing 1-inch apart.  Sprinkle cookies with sea salt.

Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until just golden brown around the edges, 10-12 minutes* (the cookies will firm up as they cool).  Let cool slightly on baking sheets, then transfer to wire racks; let cool completely.

Enjoy!

Stephanie-Signature

Leave a Reply

