closet foodies: coconut agave granola… it’s not for hippies anymore

Standard
closet foodies: coconut agave granola… it’s not for hippies anymore

written by Stephanie

I love granola.  I could eat  the yummy whole grain goodness for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  I remember from my childhood my mother making homemade granola.  It was nothing like today’s granola mixes but one that I relished on vanilla ice cream.  The original home food delivery service, Schwan’s, would bring to our doorstep the 2 1/2 gallon container of vanilla ice cream.  It was cause to celebrate.  So, we would break out the homemade granola and Grandma’s canned, homemade peach sauce!  We would pile on our homemade goodies atop scoops of vanilla ice cream… yum!  Fast forward to today… I miss that treat and I have no idea how my Grandma made that peach sauce (sadly, nor do I venture into canning).  I stick to a more grownup version by adding granola to my morning Greek yogurt or as a treat on frozen yogurt.  I am fond of Bear Naked Granola but at the price and 12 oz size, it’s not economical for my family.  So the inner child in me sought out a recipe  I could be happy with and a few adaptations later… voilá!

Coconut Agave Granola

recipe adapted from shutterbean.
 
This recipe can be made gluten-free by using Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free products
Yield = 4 cups
Oven 350° F
Baking Time: 18 min.

 

The ingredients…

3 cups rolled oats (I prefer Bob’s Red Mill)
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut shreds
3/4 cup raw almonds or I love already toasted pepitas
3 T raw shelled hemp seeds
1/3 cup coconut oil, (melted)
1/4 cup agave
1/8 cup brown sugar
1/2 t sea salt
 

The nitty-gritty…

Gather up your ingredients.

Combine oats, coconut flakes, coconut shreds, pepitas or almonds, and hemp seeds in a large bowl.

Get in there and give it a good mix by hand…

Add the melted coconut oil and agave and mix well to coat.  Next, stir in the brown sugar and salt.

Spread granola mixture into a parchment-lined rimmed baking sheet.

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and stir the granola, folding in the browned granola from the edges to the center.  Return to the oven and bake another 8 minutes or until golden in color.  Remove from oven and let cool before storing in an airtight container.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Leave a comment